Fred R. Bockmiller, P.E. represents Division 1, which includes much of the west side of Costa Mesa and portions of Newport Beach. He has served five terms as President and six terms as Vice President. Director Bockmiller represents Mesa Water District on the Board of the Association of California Water Agencies (ACWA) Joint Powers Insurance Authority (JPIA). He has served on the ACWA Energy Committee for more than 20 years. Director Bockmiller served on the JPIA Executive Committee between 2019 - 2023 and JPIA Risk Management Committee for 14 years. He currently serves on the JPIA Workers' Compensation Program Committee. He also represents Mesa Water at the Orange County Water District and the City/Districts Liaison Committee meetings.

Throughout his service, Director Bockmiller has championed cost-efficient service reliability. His perpetual agency philosophy of long-term planning and continuous infrastructure maintenance, renewal, and improvement has helped ensure a reliable water and high-quality supply for Mesa Water District’s customers.

As part of his philosophy of long-range planning, developing the next generation is an area of interest. He is an annual guest lecturer at UCI’s Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, a mentor in the Junior Mentor Program at Newport Harbor High School and was a Board member and CFO of the Youth Employment Service for 17 years leaving them debt-free and with substantial assets.

Director Bockmiller is the Engineering Manager in the Department of Finance and Administration at the University of California, Irvine. He has been a team leader in operational efficiency, construction efforts, and conservation for more than 35 years, including completion of more than $3 billion in major capital construction projects and energy retrofit projects, which tripled the developed building space, reduced energy consumption in laboratories by 50 percent, and reduced campus per-capita potable water consumption by more than 40 percent. These efforts have been nationally and internationally recognized by numerous awards including the Governor’s Energy and Environmental Leadership Award.