Mesa Water District Board Elects Shawn Dewane as Board President

Posted: Wednesday, January 4, 2023

COSTA MESA, Calif. — Mesa Water District (Mesa Water®) is pleased to announce newly appointed Shawn Dewane, as Board President and Marice H. DePasquale as Vice President to serve for 2022-2024.

The Mesa Water Board of Directors acknowledged Directors Jim Atkinson serving Division 4 and Shawn Dewane serving Division 5, who were re-elected in the general election on November 8.

“It’s a privilege for the Mesa Water Board to serve our customers and advocate for a pure and plentiful supply of clean, safe water that supports our economic vitality and way of life,” said Shawn Dewane, Mesa Water Board President. “Because of our investments in water supply and forward-thinking planning, Mesa Water is celebrating its 10th anniversary of providing 100% local water to our service area. This is a tremendous accomplishment, as the only agency in Orange County to fulfill water demand entirely from local groundwater supplies, Mesa Water does not rely on more expensive imported water, which protects our customers from rate volatility.”

As a top-performing independent special district, Mesa Water is dedicated to perpetual infrastructure improvements that continue the Board’s legacy of ensuring a sustainable water supply.

About Mesa Water

Founded on January 1, 1960, and governed by a publicly-elected, five-member Board of Directors, Mesa Water is an independent special district that provides water service to 110,000 residents in an 18-square-mile service area that includes most of Costa Mesa, a portion of Newport Beach, and John Wayne Airport. Mesa Water provides 100 percent local reliable groundwater to its customers due to the Mesa Water Reliability Facility. Visit, follow @MesaWater on FacebookTwitter, or Instagramemail, or call 949.631.1200 to learn more.