## **RESOLUTION NO. 1510**

## RESOLUTION OF THE MESA WATER DISTRICT BOARD OF DIRECTORS OPPOSING A TAX ON DRINKING WATER

WHEREAS, the Mesa Water District (Mesa Water®) is a county water district organized and operating pursuant to the provisions of the laws of the State of California (State or California); and

WHEREAS, a proposed tax on drinking water is being advanced through SB 623 by Sen. William Monning (D-Carmel), a two-year bill introduced in 2017, and a 2018 Brown Administration budget trailer bill related to safe drinking water; and

WHEREAS, the water community agrees with the intent of the proposed legislation which is intended to fill gaps in funding to assist disadvantaged communities that lack access to safe drinking water; and

WHEREAS, drinking water is essential to life; and

WHEREAS, adding a tax on drinking water works against the common goal of keeping water bills affordable for Mesa Water District customers; and

WHEREAS, the legislation would set a dangerous precedent and open the door to additional taxes on water in the future; and

WHEREAS, the new law would turn Mesa Water District into a tax collector for the state of California, requiring additional staff to manage adding costs to our customers; and

WHEREAS, there are more appropriate funding sources that could be used to address this serious issue, including ongoing federal safe drinking water funds, voter-approved general obligation bond funds, the assessments related to nitrates in groundwater proposed in the budget trailer bill and SB 623 and state general fund dollars; and

NOW, THEREFORE, THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE MESA WATER DISTRICT DOES HEREBY RESOLVE, DETERMINE, AND ORDER AS FOLLOWS:

**Section 1.** The Board of Directors of Mesa Water® District formally opposesunless-amended SB 623 and the budget trailer bill proposing a tax on drinking water. ADOPTED, SIGNED, and APPROVED this 26th day of March 2018 by a roll call vote.

AYES:DIRECTORS:Dewane, DePasquale, Fisler, Bockmiller, AtkinsonNOES:DIRECTORS:ABSENT:DIRECTORS:ABSTAIN:DIRECTORS:

Denise Dania

Jim Atkinson President, Board of Directors

Denise Garcia District Secretary