Shawn Dewane, Marice H. DePasquale and Jim Atkinson Re-Elected to the Mesa Water District Board of Directors

Shawn Dewane, Marice H. DePasquale and Jim Atkinson Re-Elected to the Mesa Water District Board of Directors (Photo: Business Wire)

Mesa Water’s Board Appoints Dewane as President and DePasquale as Vice President

COSTA MESA, Calif.--(BUSINESS WIRE)--Mesa Water District (Mesa Water®), a top-performing public water agency, hosted Senator John Moorlach (CA 37th District) last week for the swearing in of Directors Shawn Dewane, Marice H. DePasquale and Jim Atkinson who were re-elected on Nov. 6, 2018 to continue to serve on the Mesa Water Board. Subsequently, on Dec. 13, 2018, the Board officially named Shawn Dewane to serve as Board President and Marice H. DePasquale to serve as Vice President for 2019-2020.

“We are pleased to continue to produce and deliver high-quality, local, and reliable water to our community 24 hours a day, 365 days a year. Water is essential to our quality of life and key to the economic development of our community, and we are committed to continuing to provide cost-effective water service now and in the future,” said Shawn Dewane, Mesa Water Board President.

President Dewane represents Division 5, which includes eastside Costa Mesa and parts of Newport Beach. He has extensive experience in regional water issues having served on the Orange County Water District (OCWD) Board for eight years, as both a Director and its Board President. Further, Director Dewane is actively involved with many water industry, government, finance and community organizations, including serving on the Board of the Orange County Employees Retirement System.

Vice President DePasquale represents Division 3, the north Costa Mesa community, which includes landmarks such as South Coast Plaza and Segerstrom Center for the Arts. Vice President DePasquale was appointed to the Mesa Water District Board in 2017 and was elected in 2018 with nearly 70% of the vote. She also serves as a board member on UCI’s School of Social Science Dean’s Board of Counselors, and has served on the board of Seneca Family of Agencies, a nonprofit adoption agency, and the City of Huntington Beach’s Affordable Housing Committee, among other organizations.

Director Atkinson represents Division 4, the northeast Costa Mesa community including Mesa Del Mar and College Park as well as notable landmarks such as TeWinkle Park and Vanguard University. Director Atkinson, first elected to the Mesa Water District Board in 1998, has served across all standing committees and as President of the Board. He serves as a member of the Association of California Water Agencies (ACWA) Region 10 Board as well as on the ACWA Groundwater Committee, Urban Water Institute Board, and as Chair of the Water Advisory Committee of Orange County. Director Atkinson has served as President of the Mesa Water Board of Directors for the past two years having led the District to eliminate unfunded pension liability and toward greater efficiency and water reliability.

As one of Orange County’s most efficient water agencies, Mesa Water invests in perpetual infrastructure improvements that continue the Board’s legacy of ensuring a sustainable water supply.

About Mesa Water

Founded on January 1, 1960, and governed by a publicly-elected, five-member Board of Directors, Mesa Water is an independent special district that provides water service to 110,000 residents in an 18-square-mile service area that includes most of Costa Mesa, a portion of Newport Beach, and John Wayne Airport. Mesa Water provides 100 percent local reliable groundwater to its customers due to the Mesa Water Reliability Facility. Visit, follow @MesaWater on Facebook, Twitter, or Instagram, email, or call 949.631.1200 to learn more.