Mesa Water Re-elects Shawn Dewane As President and Fred Bockmiller As First Vice President

Costa Mesa, Calif. – Mesa Water District's (Mesa Water) Board of Directors (Board) announces that Shawn Dewane will continue to serve as Board President through 2010, and Fred Bockmiller as First Vice President. The annual election of officers was held at the December 8, 2009 Board meeting.

Shawn Dewane has been on the Board since 2005 and previously served as First Vice President. “I appreciate the support of my fellow Board members and their confidence in my ability to continue serving as President,” said Shawn Dewane. “It is an honor to work with such dedicated and conscientious people.”

Fred Bockmiller was first elected to the Board in 1996 and serves as Mesa’s representative to the Association of California Water Agencies Joint Powers Insurance Authority and Orange County Water District. He previously served as Mesa’s Board President for three terms.

Directors James F. Atkinson, James Fisler, and Trudy Ohlig-Hall will continue to serve on the Board as Vice Presidents.

Mesa provides water service to more than 105,000 customers in an 18 square-mile area. The service area includes the city of Costa Mesa, parts of Newport Beach, and the John Wayne Airport. Mesa is dedicated to satisfying our community's water needs.


About Mesa Water

Founded on January 1, 1960, and governed by a publicly-elected, five-member Board of Directors, Mesa Water is an independent special district that provides water service to 110,000 residents in an 18-square-mile service area that includes most of Costa Mesa, a portion of Newport Beach, and John Wayne Airport. Mesa Water provides 100 percent local reliable groundwater to its customers due to the Mesa Water Reliability Facility. Visit, follow @MesaWater on Facebook, Twitter, or Instagram, email, or call 949.631.1200 to learn more.