Mesa Water District Elects Fred R. Bockmiller, Jr. As President and James F. Atkinson As First Vice President of its Board of Directors

On December 14, 2010, Orange County Supervisor John M. W. Moorlach Administered the Oath of Office to Directors Atkinson, Dewane, and Fisler

Costa Mesa, Calif. –  At its December 14, 2010 regular Board meeting, Mesa Water District named Fred R. Bockmiller, Jr. as the District’s President, and James F. Atkinson as the District’s First Vice President.

“Being elected President of the Board is a responsibility that I take very seriously,” said President Bockmiller. “I am honored to be serving a fourth term as the District’s President, and remain committed to our District’s goal of perpetually providing a safe and reliable supply of high-quality water to our customers.”

A native of the Newport-Mesa area and Costa Mesa resident since 1988, President Bockmiller has many years of experience in the water industry.  First elected to the Board of Directors in 1996, he represents Division I, consisting of the West Side of Costa Mesa.  Completing his fourth term as First Vice President, he currently serves on the District’s Executive and Engineering & Operations Committees.  President Bockmiller also serves as the District’s representative to the Association of California Water Agencies (ACWA) Joint Powers Insurance Authority, and as a City/Districts Liaison.

President Bockmiller is a Professional Engineer with more than 25 years of experience in all aspects of plant and facilities planning, construction, operation, and management. His previous terms as Board President were in 1999, 2000, and 2004.

First Vice President James F. Atkinson was elected to the Board of Directors in 1998.  He previously served as President in 2002, 2003, and 2008, and as First Vice President in 2001, and 2005 through 2007.  Director Atkinson was the Laboratory Operations Business Manager at The Aerospace Corporation in El Segundo, where he worked for nearly 32 years. His experiences there included Facilities Management, Construction Management, and Business Administrative Operations.

Also at the Mesa Water District December 14, 2010 Board meeting, Orange County Supervisor John M. W. Moorlach swore in the District’s re-elected Directors Atkinson, Dewane, and Fisler by presiding over the oath of office.


About Mesa Water

Founded on January 1, 1960, and governed by a publicly-elected, five-member Board of Directors, Mesa Water is an independent special district that provides water service to 110,000 residents in an 18-square-mile service area that includes most of Costa Mesa, a portion of Newport Beach, and John Wayne Airport. Mesa Water provides 100 percent local reliable groundwater to its customers due to the Mesa Water Reliability Facility. Visit, follow @MesaWater on Facebook, Twitter, or Instagram, email, or call 949.631.1200 to learn more.