Voters Re-elect Mesa Water District's President and First Vice President as Board Members

Costa Mesa, Calif.; November 14, 2012 – Voters served by Mesa Water District (Mesa Water) have re-elected Board President, Fred R. Bockmiller, Jr., P.E., serving Mesa Water’s Division 1, and First Vice President James R. Fisler, serving Mesa Water’s Division 2.  Newly elected to the District’s Board of Directors is Ethan Temianka, who replaces longtime District Director Trudy Ohlig-Hall, to serve Mesa Water’s Division 3.

On the subject of the Division 3 election outcome, current Board President Fred R. Bockmiller, Jr., P.E. said, “Director Ohlig-Hall served the public well since 1987, and her contributions to Mesa Water and the public water utility industry are numerous.”  He continued, “The Board appreciates and thanks Director Ohlig-Hall for her 25 years of service with Mesa Water.”

A Newport-Mesa native, President Bockmiller  represents the District’s Division 1, which comprises the West Side of Costa Mesa and portions of Newport Beach.  President Bockmiller is the Engineering Manager in the Facilities Management Department at UC Irvine, where he has been a leader of energy conservation and construction efforts for more than 20 years.

A Costa Mesa resident for over 40 years, First Vice President Fisler was appointed to Mesa Water’s Board in 2009, elected in 2010, and re-elected in 2012 as the representative for the District’s Division 2, encompassing the Mesa Verde area.  Additionally, since March 2010, Fisler has served as President of the Mesa Water District Improvement Corporation.  He is also a member of the City of Costa Mesa’s Investment Oversight Committee, and he works as a REALTOR with Torelli Realty in Mesa Verde.

Outgoing incumbent, Director Trudy Ohlig-Hall, will be succeeded by newly elected Ethan Temianka as the representative for Division 3, which includes Costa Mesa’s Halecrest community and the northern part of the District’s service area.  An entrepreneur and marketing professional, Temianka is president of Patriarch Properties, LLC, and Principal and Co-Founder of eMotiv Marketing, Inc.  Temianka has served as Parks Commissioner for the City of Costa Mesa since 2011.

Directors James F. Atkinson and Shawn Dewane will continue to serve on Mesa Water’s Board as representatives for the District’s Division 4 and Division 5 respectively.


About Mesa Water

Founded on January 1, 1960, and governed by a publicly-elected, five-member Board of Directors, Mesa Water is an independent special district that provides water service to 110,000 residents in an 18-square-mile service area that includes most of Costa Mesa, a portion of Newport Beach, and John Wayne Airport. Mesa Water provides 100 percent local reliable groundwater to its customers due to the Mesa Water Reliability Facility. Visit, follow @MesaWater on Facebook, Twitter, or Instagram, email, or call 949.631.1200 to learn more.