Mesa Water District Board of Directors Names James R. Fisler as President and Shawn Dewane as First Vice President

Costa Mesa, Calif.; December 17, 2012Mesa Water District (Mesa Water) has named James R. Fisler President, and Shawn Dewane First Vice President, of Mesa Water’s Board of Directors at its Dec. 11, 2012 Board meeting.

PrezFisler FirstVPDewaneAs the representative for the District’s Division 2, encompassing the Mesa Verde area, President Fisler was appointed to Mesa Water’s Board of Directors in 2009, elected in 2010, and re-elected in 2012.  Additionally, since March 2010, he has served as President of the Mesa Water District Improvement Corporation.  A Costa Mesa resident for more than 40 years, President Fisler is a member of the City of Costa Mesa’s Investment Oversight Committee, and he works as a REALTOR with Torelli Realty in Mesa Verde.

“Having served on Mesa Water’s Board for the past three years, I am honored to be elected President and I’m fully committed to leading the District with a focus on achieving our Strategic Plan goals,” says James R. Fisler, Mesa Water Board President.  He continues, “Furthermore, as Mesa Water looks forward to becoming 100 percent locally reliable in providing safe, high-quality water to our customers, I am proud to serve our community at the helm of a local water agency that is committed to transparency, efficiency, and reliability.”

Representing Division 5, the Southeast section of the District’s service area, First Vice President Dewane was appointed to Mesa Water’s Board of Directors in 2005, elected in 2006, and re-elected in 2010.  Additionally, he served as Mesa Water’s Board President in 2009 and 2010, and as First Vice President in 2008.  First Vice President Dewane is also Chairman of CalDesal—a private nonprofit organization that advocates for clean, safe, reliable drinking water for California through environmentally responsible water desalination.  Professionally, he owns Dewane Investment Strategies, an independent branch of Raymond James Financial Services in Newport Beach.

Orange County Board Supervisor John M. W. Moorlach, C.P.A., presided over the oath of office by swearing in Mesa Water’s Board members who were re-elected or elected to office in November:  Fred R. Bockmiller, Jr., P.E., who was re-elected as the Division 1 representative serving Costa Mesa’s Westside; President James R. Fisler; and newly elected Ethan Temianka, succeeding longtime incumbent Trudy Ohlig-Hall, as the Division 3 representative serving Costa Mesa’s Halecrest community and the northern part of the District’s service area.  James F. Atkinson and First Vice President Shawn Dewane will continue to serve on Mesa Water’s Board as representatives for the District’s Division 4 and Division 5 respectively.


About Mesa Water

Founded on January 1, 1960, and governed by a publicly-elected, five-member Board of Directors, Mesa Water is an independent special district that provides water service to 110,000 residents in an 18-square-mile service area that includes most of Costa Mesa, a portion of Newport Beach, and John Wayne Airport. Mesa Water provides 100 percent local reliable groundwater to its customers due to the Mesa Water Reliability Facility. Visit, follow @MesaWater on Facebook, Twitter, or Instagram, email, or call 949.631.1200 to learn more.