Metropolitan Water District of Southern California was created by founding-area voters in 1928, following passage of an enabling bill by the California Legislature, to provide supplemental water for cities and communities on the south coastal plain. Metropolitan Water District's service area now includes about 225 cities and unincorporated areas, and covers some 5,200 square miles in Los Angeles, Orange, San Diego, Riverside, San Bernardino and Ventura counties.